Do you ever encounter a food you’ve never tried? This happens to me all the time and it always seems to be a food that EVERYONE else had at least once as a child (or at least the husband). Corn dogs is one of those. I have to admit I never really wanted to try the fried version, but corn and hot dogs are both foods I enjoy so I had to see if I could get this to work. While I have no idea if these taste even remotely close to classic corn dogs I will say that I have made them no less then four times and only now got a picture. I’ll be sure to ask the husband how they compare just as soon as I can get him to stop eating.

Baked Corn Dogs
8 all-natural turkey or beef hot dogs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup yellow corn meal
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup milk
Ketchup and Mustard

Preheat oven to 425F. Spray a large baking sheet with cooking spray or use baking mat, set aside. Thread each hot dog on to a wooden skewer, leaving about 2 inches extended from one end to act as the handle, set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, corn meal, sugar, baking powder and salt. Mix well with whisk.  Add oil, egg, and milk to make a very thick batter. Dry the hotdogs well with paper towel and moisten your hands with water then press about ¼ cup of the batter around one of the hot dogs to cover it entirely. Transfer to prepared baking sheet then repeat process with remaining batter and hot dogs.

Bake until golden brown and batter is cooked through, about 15 minutes. Transfer to plates and serve with ketchup and mustard on the side.

ENJOY!!!


Source: A putzinginthepantry original

