I love lamb and while I appreciate that not everyone else does I think lamb burgers are a good way to help ease people into the flavor. Also, since it’s summer the very idea of roasting a lamb in the oven makes me start sweating, talk to me in a few months. This recipe was discovered when (of course) I had no ground beef and really wanted a burger, I did however have lamb, feta cheese and olives. I think some Tzatziki sauce would make a great substitute for the traditional burger toppings. Yum!

Greek Lamb Burgers
1 lb ground lamb
4 oz crumbled feta cheese
3 oz sliced olives
¾ teaspoon dried oregano (¼ cup chopped fresh oregano)
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
3 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

Preheat an outdoor grill for medium-high heat and prepare the grate
Mix the ground lamb, feta cheese, sliced olives, oregano, salt, pepper and Worcestershire sauce in a large bowl until just combined. Form into burgers. Cook the lamb and beef patties on the preheated grill until the burgers are cooked to your desired degree of doneness, 3 to 4 minutes per side for well done. Assemble burgers on bun with desired condiments and garnishes.


But wait there’s more . . . stay tuned the recipe for those delicious buns is coming too!

Source: A putzinginthepantry original

