I bought Pigs in Blankets once. It seemed innocent enough. There were no chemicals I recognized from my chemistry lab and the ingredients were all pronounceable so I figured it was safe to serve to that child who never eats her lunch. It was all going well until I took the Piggies out of the oven. I have to say, my stomach turned from what I saw: While the Pigs were cozy in their slightly brown blankets the grease that seeped from their pores was unreal. Can hot dogs hold that much oil? Or was it the bread? I didn’t really care why or how the grease got there only that my child would never eat them again! Kids being kids, and lunch being the social environment that it is the request to have them came again. Well I figured I could do better than the greasy store bought version and with chef google’s assistance our own version of pigs in blankets was born.

Pigs in Blankets
Ingredients
2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbsp unsalted butter (cold cut into small pieces)
1/2 cup cheddar cheese (grated)
3/4 cup buttermilk
package of miniature hot dogs or regular sized ones.
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In medium bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cheese and salt. Cut in butter (you can do this in the food processor as well) and add buttermilk until a smooth dough forms. If dough is too sticky to work with add more flour. On a lightly floured surface roll out dough until it is about 1/4 of an inch thick. Cut squares (the size depends on what kind of hot dog you are using) so that each side is just shorter than the hot dog is long. Starting with one corner on the center of the hot dog wrap until the opposing corner slightly overlaps the original corner. Place in oven for twenty minutes or until golden brown (I would check during the last five minutes to be sure it hasn’t over browned.)
Source: Putzing in the Pantry original
