My Dad really likes his cookies crisp. He used to tell me when I was a kid that if he wanted something soft he would eat a bulla bread. So when I made cookies in the house I generally let them cook a little too long so they would be crisp enough for my dad’s approval.

The husband on the other hand likes soft and gooey cookies. Alton Brown Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie tops his favorite list. He does have a deep appreciation for ginger though and this recipe is easily adaptable for those who like their cookies crisp and those who like their cookies chewy. Just don’t skimp on the ginger.

Ginger Snaps

Ingredients:
1 cup dark molasses
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tablespoon ginger
3 cups flour
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and blend well. Roll dough into 1-inch balls and arrange 2 inches aparted on a prepared cookie sheet. Flatten with a fork dipped in sugar. Bake in oven for 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown around the edges. (For crisper cookies let bake for 15 minutes.)
Source: Adapted from Cookies and Milk Dessert Cookbook
