I have a weakness when it comes to the fish and meat departments of my local Whole Foods store. By that I mean that generally when I walk by them by grocery bill magically jumps up at least $50. But I’ve come to terms with this “problem” and now only visit the meat display OR the fish display in one visit. WIN!
Seriously though, I used to not like fish at.all. As a kid I would plug my nose and hold my breath as we approached the fish department. I could not stand the fishy smell. Luckily since we lived in New England there was generally a lobster tank far enough away to avoid the smell and close enough to still be within my mother’s sight. Let me tell you I’ve seen a lot of lobsters in my day. . .  Snapper, however, is a very mild fish and if you get them as fresh as the one I purchased (caught THAT morning in Key West) they shouldn’t smell fishy at all. All the benefits and none of the stench. Perfect.
Pan Seared Snapper with Spicy Lime Butter

Ingredients
4 tablespoons softened butter
1/4 cup finely chopped shallot
1 tablespoon lemon zest
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 red chili, minced
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 Snapper filets

How to make it:

In a small bowl, mix together butter, shallot, lime zest, lime juice, red chili, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. In a large nonstick skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Pat snapper fillets dry, then season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and cook the fillets, skin side down, until golden and crisp, about 4 minutes. Turn fish once and cook about 3 more minutes. Top fish with some of the spicy lime butter, reserving the rest for another use.

Source: Adapted from a October 2009 Redbook recipe
