Do you ever find a recipe that you just have to make right.this.moment? Even though you don’t exactly have all the ingredients? This happens to be every so often, but generally I at least have the main ingredient so my chocolate chip cookies get to remain chocolate at least. This time I stumbled upon this recipe because I was feeling for cookies, but not any of my regulars. When I saw a recipe with cornflakes in it I knew I wanted a crunch in my cookie only I didn’t have any cornflakes, but I did have a box of Newman’s Own Sweet Enough Vanilla and Almond cereal. HEY! That already has nuts in it so I skipped the 1/2 cup nuts and added extra cereal instead and lo and behold a new favorite cookie.

Cornflake Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1 cup butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ½  cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
2 cups cornflakes
½  cup nuts, chopped

Directions:
Cream sugar and butter (do not over cream or cookies will spread too much). Add dry ingredients to creamed mix gradually. Stir in 2 cups cornflakes; mix well and add 1/2 cup nuts. Drop by teaspoons about 2 inches apart (cookies will spread out). Bake 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Source: very old cookbook with its cover ripped off.

