If you’ve been reading this blog you know that we like various kinds of pancakes around here. So it shouldn’t surprise you that when I found a new recipe for pancakes I made them the same weekend. I also singed my hand because my brain has a hard time understand that a skillet’s handle is hot after ten minutes in the oven. Do you have this problem? The same thing happens when I’m using metal skewers on the grill. I just reach right in and grab them with my bare hand. It happens every.single.time. After I doused my hand in a bowl of cold water and we were able to actually eat the pancakes I discovered they were really good and they will be making a reappearance for weekend breakfasts in the future. I may have to go around with an oven mitt permanently attached to my hand, but all’s well that ends well and I don’t even have scars to show for it.

Puffed Pancake
Ingredients:
½ cup flour
½ cup milk
2 eggs, lightly beaten
Pinch of nutmeg
¼ cup ( ½ stick) butter
2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
Juice of ½ lemon
Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Lightly combine the flour, milk, eggs and nutmegs in a bowl; the batter should be slightly lumpy. Melt butter in a 10- or 12-inch ovenproof skillet. Pour the batter into the skillet.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown. Sprinkle with the confectioners’ sugar and briefly return the skillet to the oven. Remove from oven. Drizzle with the lemon juice, cut into wedges, and serve immediately.
Source: A junior league of Oakland-East Bay cookbook: California Fresh Harvest
