Gnocchi was unknown to me until one day I saw a coworker eating and asked what was for lunch. I think I bought a package the same day. It was good, but I wondered if it would be even better if I made it from scratch. Oh what a disaster that first attempt was. While following the recipe to the letter I found my gnocchi needing a full bag of flour to even be able to handle it at all. It shouldn’t have been a tear worthy event, but my pregnant self did not understand how I could have screwed up gnocchi so much. (Wasn’t it supposed to be just like pasta?!) Many moons passed before I tried to make gnocchi again, but when I did (with a MUCH better recipe) the results were sooo much better. You don’t have to trouble with the homemade version if you don’t want to, just try gnocchi it’s delish!

Gnocchi Dokey

Ingredients:
16 oz gnocchi
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic
10-12 oz swiss chard, spinach or kale, chopped coarsely
15 oz diced tomatoes, slightly drained
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions:
Cook the gnocchi according to package directions and drain it.
Meanwhile, in a large skillet over medium heat, heat oil. Add the garlic and saute it until fragrant and golden. Add the greens and saute, uncovered for 1-2 minutes. Cover the pan and steam the greens until just wilted. Add the tomatoes and salt to the greens and simmer them for several minutes. Add the cooked gnocchi to the skillet and top with cheese. Serve immediately.

Source: SOS! The Six O’Clock Scramble to the Rescue

