If I had to pick just one traditional Thanksgiving Pie to post about then it would be Pecan Pie. It’s not because I don’t love Pumpkin or Apple Pie (I do) it’s because the new recipe I use for pecan pie (I have used it for the last three years) is so delicious that I can’t help but share it right before the big day. I’ve written before about my love of maple syrup and when I saw that this recipe had maple syrup instead of bland tasteless corn syrup I would have done a cartwheel had I been capable of doing one.  This is the perfect pie bringing together the south (pecans) and north (maple syrup) and toasting the nuts brings their flavor out ten fold. I love having this pie on my table Thanksgiving afternoon and I hope you love this as much as I do.

Old Fashioned Pecan Pie

Ingredients:
1 cup maple syrup
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tablespoon molasses
4 tablespoons unsalted butter cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups pecans, toasted and chopped
1 9-inch unbaked pie shell, chilled in pie plate for 30 minutes

Directions:
Toast pecans on a baking sheet in a 350 degree oven for 5-10 minutes. Don’t walk away during this time; when you can smell the nuts, they are done. Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 450 degrees. Heat syrup, sugar, cream, and molasses in saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar dissolves, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool 5 minutes. Whisk butter and salt into syrup mixture until combined. Whisk in egg yolks until incorporated.
Scatter pecans in pie shell. Carefully pour filling over. Place pie in hot oven and immediately reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees. Bake until filling is set and center jiggles slightly when pie is gently shaken, 45 to 60 minutes. Cool pie on rack for 1 hour, then refrigerate until set, about 3 hours and up to 1 day. Bring to room temperature before serving.

Source: Cook’s Country magazine Oct/Nov 2009

