Eggnog is one of those polarized foods: you either love it or hate it. I happen to love it, but my local grocery store did not have a carton to its name when I went to buy some. Which was sad. So the next morning I searched the interwebs to find something that would give me that seasonal taste until my store restocked and low and behold I found eggnog pancakes that did not require you to use eggnog. *gasp*

Let the record show that I have found eggnog haters that like these pancakes.  These pancakes are good. Weekend breakfast and Christmas morning good. As you will see in the ingredients rum is included and while I’m sure you could just add vanilla instead I’m pretty sure the rum helped win the crowd over. I’m not absolutely sure though so I may have to make them again, you know, for scientific reasons. . .

Egg Nog Pancakes
Serves 4-5

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white wheat flour
2 tablespoon brown sugar
2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
heaping 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon allspice
6 Tablespoons butter melted until browned
2 egg
2 cup buttermilk
2 Tablespoon spiced rum
butter or a lightly colored oil for cooking pancakes
maple syrup for serving

Directions:
In a small sauce pan, melt butter until much of the water has evaporated and little brown bits appear in the bottom of the pan. Remove from the flame and add the nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice. Set aside to cool a bit.
In a small bowl, beat the egg with the buttermilk. Add the melted butter, being to sure to scrape all the browned bits and spices into the buttermilk and egg. If the butter seizes up a bit in the cold milk, that’s ok. Add the rum and just whisk it all together.
In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to incorporate. Don’t overmix. It’s ok if there are a few lumps.
Let the batter rest, untouched for 5 minutes while you heat a griddle or skillet. Add a tablespoon of canola oil or butter to the hot skillet. Dollop heaping tablespoonfuls onto heated and oiled skillet and cook until evenly browned, flipping once. Place cooked pancakes on an oven-proof plate in a warm oven until ready to serve.

Source: Adapted from Joy the Baker

